How this list is chosen
Five tools, for five jobs the guides on this site actually describe: hosting a site, knowing when it goes down, seeing who visits, keeping in touch with readers, and deploying from Git. Each was picked because a guide here reaches a point where you need something of that kind — not because of what it pays.
Every description below states what it is based on. Where this site uses the tool, it says so and names the date. Where the description comes from the vendor's own documentation and nothing more, it says that instead. There is no "best", no ranking, and no score: these are five defensible choices, not the results of a comparison nobody ran.
Prices and free tiers were read from each vendor's official pricing page on 24 September 2026. They change. The vendor's page is authoritative; this one is a snapshot with a date on it.
What is deliberately not here
Claude Code itself. Every guide on this site needs it, and this site is independent of Anthropic and says so on every page. Recommending it for commission would put a price on that independence.
Shopify. This store runs on it and sells a toolkit for automating it. That is a conflict worth leaving alone.
Anything that pays well but does not fit. The list grows when a guide creates a need, not when a program opens.
Cloudflare Pages and Workers
Hosting and deployment
- Who it suits
Someone deploying a static site, an Astro or Next.js build, or a small full-stack app, who also wants DNS and a CDN in one account.
- The problem it solves
Getting a built site onto the internet, fast, with previews per branch and no server to maintain. It is what the GitHub Actions and Cloudflare deployment guide targets.
- Limitations
The Workers runtime is not Node.js; libraries that expect a filesystem or long-running processes need adapting. The free tier's Workers limits are 100k requests a day and 10 ms CPU per request — generous for a marketing site, not for a busy application. Pages allows 500 deploys a month on the free plan.
- When you may not need it
If your site is a handful of HTML files and you already have hosting that serves them over HTTPS with a certificate that renews, you do not need to move.
Described from Cloudflare's own pricing and Pages documentation, read 24 September 2026. Not independently benchmarked by us.
Cloudflare Pages documentationOrdinary link — no commission is earned from it.
Netlify
Hosting and deployment
- Who it suits
Someone who wants Git-push deploys and preview URLs with the least configuration, and does not need Cloudflare's edge runtime.
- The problem it solves
Connecting a repository to a live site and getting a preview URL per pull request without writing a pipeline.
- Limitations
Bandwidth and build-minute allowances are not stated on the pricing page; check the current limits before assuming the free tier fits. The first paid tier is $9 a month per member, so a two-person team is $18.
- When you may not need it
If you are already deploying through GitHub Actions to somewhere that works, this is a lateral move.
Described from Netlify's own pricing page, read 24 September 2026. Not used by this site.
Netlify pricingOrdinary link — no commission is earned from it.
UptimeRobot
Monitoring
- Who it suits
Anyone responsible for a live site who would currently find out it was down from a customer.
- The problem it solves
The cheapest useful maintenance check there is: something watching the site from outside and telling you before anyone else notices. The maintenance checklist opens with this check for a reason.
- Limitations
The free plan checks every five minutes, so a short outage can fall between checks. It tells you the page responded — not that a form still delivers or a certificate is about to expire. Those stay manual.
- When you may not need it
If your host already alerts you on downtime and you have tested that it does, you have this covered.
Free plan (50 monitors, 5-minute interval) and the $13/month Solo tier read from UptimeRobot's pricing page on 24 September 2026. Not used by this site.
UptimeRobot pricingOrdinary link — no commission is earned from it.
Plausible Analytics
Analytics
- Who it suits
A site owner who wants to know what pages are read without running Google Analytics, and without adding a cookie banner.
- The problem it solves
Page-level traffic you can act on, from a script that sets no cookies and collects no personal data. Search Console tells you what Google served; this tells you what happened on the site.
- Limitations
It is deliberately shallow: no user-level journeys, no cohorts, no session replay. If you need to follow one person across visits, this is the wrong tool by design. From $9/month at 10k monthly pageviews, with a 30-day trial and no card.
- When you may not need it
On a small store, Shopify's own analytics plus Search Console already answer most questions. Add this when you want page-level data the platform does not give you.
Used by this site. Installed on sitebuilderstack.com on 17 September 2026 and running on every page since. Pricing and trial terms read from plausible.io on 24 September 2026.
PlausibleOrdinary link — no commission is earned from it.
Buttondown
Email
- Who it suits
Someone whose site has readers but no shop, who wants a list without a marketing suite.
- The problem it solves
Writing to people who asked to hear from you, in plain text, without automations you will never build.
- Limitations
Deliberately minimal: no visual builder, no CRM, no complex segmentation. Base paid pricing is not stated on the pricing page — check before committing. The first 100 subscribers are free.
- When you may not need it
If you sell through Shopify, its own customer list and email tool already exist and already hold your buyers — that is what this site uses. Adding a second list is a decision, not a default.
Described from Buttondown's pricing page, read 24 September 2026. Not used by this site.
Buttondown pricingOrdinary link — no commission is earned from it.
Why publish this at all, then
Because the recommendation is useful whether or not it pays. The tools above are what the guides on this site lead you to need, and answering "which one" is part of the job the guides are doing. If a commission arrives later it will be disclosed on the card, not buried in a footer — and nothing written above will change because of it.
The full status of every relationship, with the dates each fact was verified, is in the partner register, published with the rest of this site's source.